The Other 10 Sketches

Nerve and the IFC have just released a list of the 50 greatest comedy sketches of all time, and it’s a pretty good list. I’m particularly pleased to see my favorite Python bit, the Argument Clinic, come in at number 3. But I felt there were some notable ones that were missed, and so with the power of the internets behind me I decided to put on my reference librarian hat and see what I could come up with. So here are my top 10 sketches that didn’t make the cut:

#10 The Burgundy Loafe from Mr. Show

#9 Pink Tights and Plenty of Props from Rowan Atkinson Live

#8 Three Irish Brothers from the Muppet Show

#7 The Bavarian Restaurant Sketch from Monty Python’s Flying Circius

#6 The Joke: the Musical from Mr. Show

#5 God is Dead from the Kids in the Hall

#4 I Speak No English from the Kids in the Hall

#3 The Undertaker Sketch from Monty Python’s Flying Circus

#2 Mr. Mike’s Impression of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir Having Needles Shoved Through their Eyes from Saturday Night Live

#1Kermit the Frog Reports from the Planet Koozebane from the Muppet Show


Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Other 10 Sketches”

  1. Jason Says:

    Thank you, thank you for reminding me of “God is Dead.” May I also humbly submit:

    Kids in the Hall – Sausaages (if only for the catch phrase it spawned among friends, i.e. “sausages”)

    The Vacant Lot – This Song’s Gonna Make a Great Video (about 1:55 in)

    The Vacant Lot – Shiatsu Massage (which I sadly cannot find)

  2. geekylibrarian Says:

    Thank you, I was trying to find a good example from the Vacant Lot, but didn’t really want to go searching through 10 minute clips for the good bits. This Song’s…definitely one of their best.

    And Sausages was near the top for me too. I could have easily made the list nothing but Kids in the Hall Sketches.


Leave a Reply

