Decompressing

I’m back from two packed days at the 2008 MLA conference.  This year it was held in Falmouth, which was a pain to get to (I got lost 4 times, counting once in the hotel), but the conference was wonderful.  Except that I was fully intending to blog actively from there but didn’t feel like paying the daily connectivity charges at the hotel thanks to worrying about my car repairs (so I’m feeling cheap right now).

Which leaves me in the odd position of wanting the chance to digest what I’ve learned by discussing it here, while the events of the conference have already been described fully elsewhere.  Just like the previous year I was well and truly impressed with the depth of the presentations that were offered, and most importantly nearly every presenter was there to show how their ideas could actually be utilized by the attendees.  So often at these conferences I feel like the organizers have the heads in the clouds and only ever present the best case scenario.  Sure given an unlimited budget and a free hand I would love to build the ultimate library.  But MLA manages to remain practical, while not skimping on pushing for innovation and that is to its great benefit.

I’m sure I’ll have more to say later, but right now I can feel myself crashing hard.  In the meantime please read through the MLA blog linked above.  There’s a ton of great material there and the whole team of bloggers truly outdid themselves in their reporting.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

