The End of Year Tango Redux

So I few days back I wrote about our end of year budget surplus that allowed me to order a large batch of graphic novels for my library.  Well things sort of spiraled and people were struggling to think of things that we could get quickly on short notice without having to worry about wasting time looking at review sources.  Long story short, I got on top of the graphic novels I also got to add a bunch of classic films, a decent selection of BBC series, and I batch of f&sf art books (I can’t wait for the Jon Foster retrospective in particular).  This is yet another time that it has proven valuable to have a geek on staff.

However, that was last week.  This week we get the downside of all those orders, figuring out what to do with all those items when they come in at once.  Book carts are such coveted items right now, and I’m actually very concerned about the dvd’s because it wasn’t until today that anyone thought about if we had enough processing supplies on hand to handle such an order.  But the sad truth is that even had anyone thought of that, it still wouldn’t have been a concern as our one and only goal was to spend down the budget.

Still I enjoyed what may very well have been my one and only stab at real collection development.  And now it’s back to cataloging.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

