I’m a Collection Development Expert Now

I just found out that WebJunction has me listed as one of four blog resources for collection development.  I’m flattered, but I actually feel that that distinction is a bit inappropriate, and I don’t think that’s false modesty on my part.  Sure I’ve discussed the subject a few times, and I enjoy writing book reviews, but it is an aspect of tech services that I have no formal training in.

I can probably claim some expertise as a selector for graphic novels, but besides that all I have to go on are my own reading habits, which probably don’t make a great basis for building up anyone else’s collection.  Besides tons of comics I mostly read New Wave, Slipstream, and New Weird S.F., hard-boiled detective, and anything by either Haruki Murakami or M.T. Anderson.  All of which makes me a great selector as long as the target audience is solely the attendees at Readercon, but probably disqualifies me from anyone else.

Oh, and just to clear up some other confusion from WebJunction, I am a guy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “I’m a Collection Development Expert Now”


  1. Hi G.L.,

    We saw your tweet about being a resource on WebJunction (we think that should be our tagline!), and so I had to follow the trail to your blog. Thanks for the tip on your gender–I’ll update the article so that it definitively reads “he.”

    -Sharon

    P.S. I’m a huge Murakami fan. But I have recently started reading Raymond Chandler, having only seen the movies based on his books. His books are terrific! (duh)

  2. geekylibrarian Says:

    Nice to hear from you Sharon, especially as I’m a huge fan of the work being done over on WebJunction. And you’re more than welcome to grab the tagline.

    Also, if you haven’t discovered it yet watch Brick, it’s the closest anyone has come to copying Chandler respectfully.


Leave a Reply

