All Pervasive

I’m now I week away from co-leading my first teen video game night at the library, which I’m very excited about, along with everyone else at the library.  However, I feel myself increasingly becoming a bit of a buzzkill about it.  You see, quite a few of my co-wokers have been raving about what a great and innovative thing this is that we’re doing.  And I can’t help but point out that by doing this I feel we’re just playing catch up with the rest of the world.

For one thing, we’re hardly the first library to hold a game night, and due to scheduling we actually will not be participating in the gaming in libraries day next month.  Now yesterday a new PEW study was released in which 97% of teen respondents said they played video games.  Thus we are not going to be offering anything that isn’t already a part of the lives of each of our attendees.  What we will be doing is offering a social venue for these games, which the same survey says iswhy 2/3 of those respondees play games in the first place.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

