Review: Duck Feet

Love and Rockets is one of those comics I’ve been reading more out of a sense of obligation than because I actually enjoy it.  It’s the fanboy equivalent of reading War and Peace.  Which is not to say that I don’t enjoy the book.  Los Bros Hernandez are amazing gifted creators, both just as skilled on art as they are as writers.  But there’s just something about the book that always makes me hesitate to pick up the next volume (I’ve owned most of it for two years now thanks to a good used book run and I’m just now finished volume 6).

But that hesitation is not quite as strong as it was previously.  In particular because Gilbert’s Palomar stories are finally starting to grow on me.  I really didn’t care for the early stories very much, but at this point in which the kids from those tales are learning how to be adults I’ve become far more invested.  But it’s Jaime’s Locas stories that I’ve up until now had a stronger attachment too, even though they lack the ambition of the book’s other half.  The Locas shorts in this collection are just simple stories, well told.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

