Upstairs/Downstairs

It’s booksale (scroll down a bit for the announcement) time at my library again.  One of my favorite times at work, albeit not for my wallet, or for those of quite a few other people if the crowds are anything to go by.  Although what’s interesting to me is those crowds were not reflected elsewhere in the library.

Mostly I’m interested because I’m one of those people who would have completely bipassed the main library in favor of the sale downstairs in the auditorium.  Even in the current economy there are still plenty of people who seem to need to be surrounded by books at all times (my current count stands at 1,725).  Honestly, what attracted me to libraries was less having access to all those books, than just being in their presence, it’s my comfort zone really.  And I’m sure I’m not alone in that.

So here we are with a sizeable population of book lovers, who are willing to come to the library but don’t actually utilize it.  This is possibly the best argument to become more than just the sum of our collections.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

