The Current State of Tech Services on the Web

Well, it’s come at last.  Tomorrow I’ll be heading out the WMRLS for my first ever workshop, and will finally be able to put into use the links page in the right hand column.  In preparation I’ve spent a lot of time lately exploring the online technical services world, and over all it’s not very good.

There are almost no decent sites out there for the profession.  The Library of Congress’s cataloging and acquistions department is a notable exception, but besides that sites are largly poorly designed, out of date, or are just repositories for powerpoint presentations.  

The only real signs of life online are on the autocat list, the librarians for librarything forum, and across the blogosphere.  At least those resources are quite extensive and provide a great means of staying current, but they’re awful for getting up to speed.

So tomorrow should be interesting.  I’ve always thought that we need to spend more time focusing on life outside the field, which I guess is now going to become part of a theme for my talk.

But I’m still open to having people prove me wrong.  Find some more sites and let me know.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Current State of Tech Services on the Web”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    Great workshop!! You’ve obviously done mega homework and care deeply about the great field of Library Tech Services. I’m glad we seem to have a “spokespersons” from Western Mass.

  2. geekylibrarian Says:

    Thanks Cynthia! I’m ecstatic that you found the workshop valuable. I hope to see you at the next tech services event.


Leave a Reply

