Teenage Riot!

A lot of people have commented lately on the anti-teenager trend that seems to becoming a part of society.  This is absolutely horrible, and I’m glad I’ve largely avoided it, until now.  Well, I suppose it’s something that’s been in the background for a while and its just now reached the point where it’s really pissed me off.

We have quite a few staff members who clearly get nervous around teenagers, to the point where some teens are considered suspicious for being in the library.  Yesterday, I finally had enough when I was asked to check up on someone because the were in the bathroom too long (a few minutes),  which I refused to do.  It’s bad enough when our patrons make teens coming to the library feel unwelcome, it’s inexcusable when we do it.

I’ve talked to a few people about this and the closest I’ve been able to get to a reason for some of this distrust is that it’s “a generational thing”.  Which I can’t really argue against because that’s an excuse that’s inherently irrational. 

Ok, enough venting for now…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

