Twitter Talk Recap

Last night’s talk was a learning experience for me.  I’ve taught a few techie workshops at my library now, and in all the previous instances the attendees came to the class without a great deal of prior knowledge of the subject matter.  Yesterday that was changed up in some very refreshing ways.

First I only had a class of 2.  Seven had signed up, but I was opposite a major thunderstorm and an event downtown.  Both of the people who did show were mostly unfamiliar with twitter, but clearly displayed a knowledge of other social networks on the Internet.  These two elements pretty much caused me to throw my agenda out the window and instead teach according to the flow of the conversation.

I had some really observant questions that I hadn’t prepared for (but should have), the best kind.  For example, once they saw Twitter, one of the people instantly identified that it had no clear revenue stream.  I also got to go off on a fairly long tangent on the difference between Twitter and the status updates in Facebook.  

It’s always nice to have a class that just gets it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

