Against My Wishes

I was recently asked if I’d be interested in sitting down with our circ and childrens librarians to discuss the possibility of building a video game collection at my library.  The answer was yes of course, so I’m greatly looking forward to that discussion.

However, as much as I might love the idea of us having such a collection, I’m having a very hard time building up a good case for why we should have one at this moment.  That really hurts to admit, but I can’t argue with the budget.  Our collection development budget was recently gutted and we’ve lost hours to our YA department.  We also desperately need to upgrade our public computers.  So as much as it pains me I would much rather have those things before allocating money towards a games collection.

And beyond that there’s the logistics issues.  In order to support such a collection, we need more consoles, even if just for the purposes of testing discs to make sure they work.  We have a Wii for our Rock Band/DDR events, but that’s it (maybe I could bring discs home to try out on my xbox if necessary).  I think getting a game collection would also finally push us to the point of needing a disc repair machine, which would cost a few grand.  We seem to be the only library without one now a days, but I’ve run the numbers a few times and its never been cost effective for us to have one previously.

Maybe I’m just being pessimistic, but I don’t think this is the time.  Thoughts?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Against My Wishes”

  1. Jordan Says:

    I don’t know anything about libraries… But it doesn’t seem like *right now* would be the time. Unless it could be linked to something larger like a program of workshops teaching young ones programming and video game design skills, which seems outside your jurisdiction.

    By the way, are you talking about games for use in your video game nights? Or for loan? (I don’t know what “collection” means I guess).

  2. geekylibrarian Says:

    We’re talking about loaning games out. There are 19 libraries in our consortia that have started to do that and they seem to have been fairly successful at it (although a quick search of the catalog shows that they could use some collection development assistance).

    I don’t think we’re up to the challenge of leading a programming workshop, but it’s something that actually has been done elsewhere.


Leave a Reply

