The Day Twitter Died

As has been reported everywhere today, Twitter was hit by a DDoS attack, which crippled the service for a few hours this morning and drastically slowed it down throughout the day.  What was really amazing to me was how much I have aparently come to rely on it throughout the day.  

Over the course of the last few weeks an enormous network of Tweeting librarians has developed via #followalibrarian.  Besides the incredible networking opportunity this has provided (Massachusetts library Tweetup on August 17th), this network has become an invaluable tool for me in my job.  To paraphrase one of my favorite obscure X-Men characters, librarians know stuff.  Yesterday for example, I had a question about a random book I needed to catalog in Urdu.  Turns out I knew three people on Twitter who had the answer I sought.  That one just floored me.

Working without that contact with my peers today was actually a bit rough after having grown so accustomed to it.  Hopefully tomorrow everything will be better.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Day Twitter Died”

  1. martinslabbert Says:

    Well said.


Leave a Reply

