Review: Secret Six: Unhinged

It’s been a long time coming, but the Secret Six finally have an ongoing series with Gail Simone at the helm (along with the great Nicola Scott on art).  The Six is DC’s latest attempt at a villains book and it is arguably their most successful because of Simone’s deft characterization.  

The six leads are aren’t so much villains (although they do get up to quite a big of robbery, murder, and mayhem in this book) as just deeply broken people.  The book is just littered with one disturbing peak into their minds after another, none of which are obvious, but all of which just seem right.  From Scandal being consoled with a prostitute dressed up as her dead lover to Bane unilaterally deciding to become a surrogate father I kept finding myself simultaneously amused and horrified.

The plot for this collection is a blast as well.  This book is basically a macguffin story, but a very clever one that makes for a perfect start to this series.  I can’t wait to see where Simone goes next.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Review: Secret Six: Unhinged”

  1. seventhsoldier Says:

    Imagine my surprise when I saw that WordPress linked this with my review at Read/RANT. I just finished my MLIS a month or two back. Of course, given that I’m unemployed, I don’t know that I can actually call myself a fellow geeky librarian… but I hope to be, sooner or later.

    Anyway, just wanted to compliment you on your nifty blog.

    • geekylibrarian Says:

      Thank you, and good luck in your job search. We had a recent grad working the circ desk at my library who was just hired for a professional position this week so it can be done!


Leave a Reply

